USMNT: Jurgen Klinsmann Names 2015 Gold Cup Provisional Roster

USMNT Gold Cup roster

Fox 59 News/ Twitter/ @Fox59

Ahead of the USMNT’s 2-1 win over Germany, Jurgen Klinsmann announced the USMNT’s 35-man provisional roster for the 2015 Gold Cup. The USMNT’s May friendlies against Netherlands and Germany helped prepare the team for their July friendly against Guatemala and the 2015 Gold Cup. They are hoping to win and secure a spot in the 2017 Confederations Cup. An appearance in the 2013 Confederations Cup was something Klinsmann said the USMNT missed out on in their preparation for the 2014 World Cup.

The 35-man provisional roster will be cut down to 23 before the USMNT compete in the 2015 Gold Cup. This current roster allows Klinsmann options and versatility as the Americans prepare to take on their CONCACAF foes. Most notably, DaMarcus Beasley is coming out of his retirement from international football to train with the USMNT after having a lengthy conversation with Jurgen Klinsmann. As he told Fox Sports 1’s Stuart Holden, Beasley wants to be available for Klinsmann if it’s determined that he is what is best for the USMNT. Beasley’s inclusion adds another option and flexibility to the USMNT’s starting XI and what position players play. For example, if Beasley is inserted at left back, Fabian Johnson can play left wing.

Overall, the USMNT’s provisional roster allows Klinsmann options as the team trains and pick exactly who he think can help the team win the 2015 Gold Cup. It’s a great selection of players that will obviously have to be cut down to 23 players before they play their first Gold Cup game. Likewise, the roster selection allows players to show their worth and what they can bring to the team’s Gold Cup run and hopeful winners of the 2015 Gold Cup.

The USMNT’s 2015 Gold Cup provisional roster is listed below.

Goalies (4) – Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England); Bill Hamid (D.C. United/USA); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake/USA); William Yarbrough (Leon/Mexico)

Defenders (12) – Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico); DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo/USA); Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City/USA); John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany); Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt/Germany); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders/USA); Greg Garza (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy/USA); Michael Orozco (Puebla/Mexico); Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers/England); Brek Shea (Orlando City SC/USA); DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur/England)

Midfielders (12) – Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/USA); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada); Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo/USA); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/USA); Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach/Germany); Perry Kitchen (D.C. United/USA); Alfredo Morales (Inglostadt 04/Germany); Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution/USA); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/USA); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City/USA)

Forwards (7) – Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution/USA); Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders/USA); Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy/USA); Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar/Netherlands); Jordan Morris (Stanford University/USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes/USA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *